Cardigan Progress

  photo F90BB279-D35A-4D7C-81C1-6ACD60A9B109-153-0000000D417F54EA_zpsf76cb102.jpg
Above- Cardigan progress from last week

This cardigan I started before Christmas but didn’t fully get into it due to having to rip back and re cast on  about 4 times because of mistakes I kept making when knitting. The silly ones all us knitters do from time to time like use the wrong needles and only realise after the welt. Or cast on the wrong amount of stitches. Either way progress was put to a steady pace at the beginning.

I work as a hand knitting pattern writer and decided this year would be the year that I knit myself sweaters and cardigans from patterns I write, not for work but generally just for me. Mainly basic sweaters but using shapes and colours I enjoy working with. Also using my favourite techniques. First was this purple cardigan which i wanted to be slightly fitted, short in length but baggy in width. I wanted the cardigan to be a boyfriend sweater but shorter in length. I knew a low v-neck was on the cards with it being a boyfriend sweater, a fully fashioned raglan would be well suited and a deep welt done in 1×1 rib for elasticity.

I chose Aran weighted yarn as I didn’t want it too thick and bulky. I also had this purple aran laying around under my desk at work waiting to be used. I haven’t even used a full 400g ball yet. I like thick yarns for being quick to knit up but always find I love the thinner 4 ply ensembles, which take forever to knit but look so delicate and beautiful. So my next project will be more of a light weight yarn. Also I’ve never knitted myself a summer top although will it end up ready for the summer is the question.

I have queued up my next project but I’ll talk about that with you  in a bit! x

 photo B0175CBC-769E-4D4C-9880-ACADE9EFB85C-9484-00000965A6E582DE_zps5aa99373.jpg

Leave a Reply

