Funeral Flowers

Afternoon Friends,
I’ve decided it’s time to start again with the posts to give me a motivational push forward. I think we can all understand you can rest and mull over things more and more but it isn’t going to make it or you feel any better.
I thought I’d share with you what I’ve been doing this last week whilst going through a bit of hardship; I still managed to pick up those needles and carry on with a small bit of knitting here and there. With one design almost written and fully knitted I decided to have a break from designing with my granddad passing and focus more on resting for a while. These past few weeks and months have been full of hope, love, bravery and sorrow. At times it’s been so hard and tiring to cope with and even though it’s still very fresh I’m managing to put a smile on my face like he’d have wanted and push on through.
I’m taking each day as it comes, I’m trying to be positive and keeping my day to day life as normal now as possible.

Me and my Grandad together! X

Me and my Granddad at Bridlington Harbour with our Ice Creams.

We spent so much time together whilst I was growing up and even though he wasn’t 100% well then he was at least still very mobile and content. I’m very lucky to have had shared those times with him and spent at least every day with him, he was the most doting granddad I could have wished for and nothing will ever fill that space in my heart it’s still saved for him.

 I wanted him to have a part of me to take to the other side, I knew he’d love that so much. I didn’t have much time to make anything massive and design anything so I’d  decided to make something. I wanted to make him a flower pin to wear which I’d give him at the Chapel of Rest and create one for myself. I’ve previously browsed the book ‘100 Flowers To Knit And Crochet’ by Lesley Stanfield and so figured it would be perfect.
Over the past couple of weeks a lot of questions have been asked about my granddads life when he were a young lad and what he liked in general and reminiscing our times spent together and sharing memories, so amongst these questions were ‘What was his favourite flower?’ My mum told me he was always a romantic and loved to buy my nan the traditional red rose as it signified his Love. I’ve also always admired red roses and would happily knit my granddad one. Then with the Funeral drawing near I also wanted to make myself a flower to wear that I could keep and would be worn like my granddads flower. Whilst in the process of making I asked my mum if she’d like one made and she wanted a smaller replica of the rose.

I basically made the stem the same as the instructions in the book but made 4 petals and the first  petals had one row between the shaping sections but the rest as the given instruction and the 3rd and 4th petal had three rows between. It created a smaller less weighted rose so it wouldn’t be too bulky to wear on a jacket or coat.

Funeral Flowers

My mum’s Rose and My Lily.

I’d decided upon a Lily the tradition funeral flower, the lily ended up quite longer but with the pin affixed to the back lengthways it didn’t droop so I had no need to alter it. They all turned out beautiful and I were very happy to give and pin on his rose and give him my goodbyes.

It still doesn’t feel quite real that he’s gone but I know he’s not faraway. X

Follow Me On :- Bloglovin, Twitter, Ravelry, Instagram, Facebook Or Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

