The Vintage Inspired Sweater

DENNIS

You may remember me discussing with you a few months ago my Grandads passing and I had some time off to re-coop and gain some clarity of it all and well let the bad news sink in a little. Back then I was visiting the hospital a lot and doing a fair bit of crying and whilst I were doing all this and working 5 full day weeks I’d still managed keep up too my blog and got a good couple of patterns not only knit but also written, checked and published. I’d been so busy and literally worn to the bone. Through all that time I got share my creations on my visits which kept my grandad proud and helped take his mind off all the trouble if only for a second to make him smile. This Sweater was the last sweater of mine he saw in the making but he had passed a few days before I’d managed to get it all sewn up.

So in his loving memory I’m naming this Vintage 1950’s Inspired Sweater ‘Dennis’.

On a lighter note it’s started brightening up again today and I finally got my new pattern up to date and completed better late then never eh! 😉 Apart from needing some proper photos but they can come later now the sunshine is out.

So ‘Dennis’ is something I’d been planning since about Christmas I wanted to try my hand at a little bit of classic knitwear and where better to look than the 1950’s. I wasn’t wanting to be outlandish with stripes or pattern I was wanting simple and elegant. Mainly something smart I could pull on for any occasion, whether it be for work, party, dinner or family gathering. I look over knitwear a lot and the elegance as some what escaped the feminine shapes have changed and we no longer see the need to show off our flattering figures. However from time to time I still do.

The sweater is made the same both front and back apart from the different necklines which makes the garment easily reversible and flattering either way. The coloured edging is created with a simple slip stitch into an eyelet edging using a crochet hook. It’s close fitting with no positive ease and a deep ribbed edging to pull in at the waist. The making is done in pieces and will need to be sewn together to finish and instructions are fully written.

For the minute I’m keeping the pattern for Free but is subject to change in the future.

Follow Me On :- Bloglovin, Twitter, Ravelry, Instagram, Facebook Or Pinterest.

3 comments
  1. Elelu said:

    Thank you, Vanessa. I’ve just saved it in my library.😊

    • You are very much welcome and I hope you enjoy knitting it!
      Vanessa x

Leave a Reply

