It Begins With An ‘S’ And Comes In Pairs

Slippers, Socks and Stockings!

All of which seem to want to jump on and off my needles recently!

I’m on a knitted footwear binge!

So last Friday after a week long delivery of knitting goodies I cast on the Fika Socks from the Spring issue of Pom Pom Quarterly. The pattern is by Maribeth White and is a simple but pleasurable knit and is aided by the use of such beautiful fibre yarns. For this particular project I decided to indulge and treat myself to some special yarn. Something I’ve never knitted with before that would bring a cheeky and happy smile to my face when knitting it up. So after much searching on Loop Knitting I fell head over heels (mind the pun) for some The Uncommon Thread ‘Tough Sock‘ I pick a shade named Tourmaline which I think is best portrayed in the photo below. I also wanted something for that little bit of striping in the toe but rather than using some old excess left overs I decided to have a nosey for some mini skeins. I found that Loop also stocked the cute and beautiful Madelintosh Mini ‘Unicorn Tails‘ which may I add is unbelivably gorgeous and soft. I spent ages browsing the colourways but my favourite was the neon yellow shade and well named ‘Edison’s Bulb’. I cast on the first sock last Friday and I only have 9cm left to do, so there coming on nice and fast. My favourite thing about these socks though was the ablility last Friday late afternoon after work whilst it was quiet was to sit down with a coffee and some biscuits and watch videos and practice the 1×1 rib Tubular cast on. It always feels good to still be learning something new from a hobby, it’s highly refreshing and pleasing.

Betty Lace Stockings

This is just and update but both stockings are coming on well as you can see! And although I haven’t worked on them a massive amount I’ve still been making some gradual progress through the week. They feel really soft and look like they will stretch nicely to may thighs when finished.

Next up the Wanderers Mukluks this is a pattern I found recently amongst my ravelry searches that is just craving to be begun. These particular pair are my favourites and are knitted in Malabrigo Worsted which I have just bought a skein of for a future hat project. All being well if it knits up nicely I’m tempted to by more to cast on these beauty’s. Aren’t they fab?

Image from Northcountryknits.

I tell you this month I’ve gained some kind of knitted footwear fetish where will it end…. 😉

Follow Me On :- Bloglovin, Twitter, Ravelry, Instagram, Facebook Or Pinterest

Leave a Reply

