How Do You Choose The One?!

I’ve been looking to replace an older store bought cardigan that is the ‘staple black cardigan’ currently in my wardrobe. It’s been on my mind this past year and I figured it would be easier to buy the yarn if I could choose the cardigan. Since then, I’ve become obsessed with Ravelry and searching for the perfect cardigan.

But how do you choose?!

I was firstly looking at them all as options but that was too difficult so I narrowed down some ideas by looking at key features of the cardigan I’m replacing.

  • Top Down or Yoked construction.
  • Fitted.
  • Large waistband and standard length.
  • 3/4 Sleeves.

The only other thing I wouldn’t mind adding to this list is that it’s not too plain. I’ve come to realise I’m one for a pattern or complex knit, it keeps me excited and interested, plus it keeps me distracted when I need it.

Here’s a few ideas I’ve collected…

 

I love the look of this it’s garter stitch but simple, it’s fitted with lovely long sleeves for the winter but it’s quite high necked! And although Carrie has written this pattern in different weights I think I’d prefer the light version.

 

I’ve always been a lover of Andi’s designs but I’ve only ever knitted Fizz which was a test knit a long while ago but she was a lovely designer to work with. This pattern is a recent release and I think the neat and simple lace detail would just be subtle and appealing in a black cardigan. It would just be enough interest to keep me happy and the fit and sleeve length is lovely enough I could wear through a few seasons.

Gemini by Cecily Glowik Macdonald

This cardigan most represents my old cardigan which is why I’d be tempted to pick it! but I’m not sure it’s interesting enough, the panel on the back is nice but I’m not 100% keen on the moss stitch borders and how they might gap slightly.

What do you think? Is there any you prefer the most or maybe you’ve also knit them? or could recommend something I’ve not looked at?

These are just a few I’m still adding to my options on my Cardigan Bundle on Ravelryย if you’d care to check it out.

x

4 comments
  1. I love the Charlotte Light Cardigan…it looks lovely and you can’t go wrong with a pattern by Carrie Bostick Hoge.

    • I’ve never knit from any of Carries patterns yet so thank you for highly recommending them I think one will certainly be added to my future queue ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. You are planning to knit a BLACK cardigan?! Are you sure your eyes can take it? In all seriousness, it almost blinded me knitting a pair of black socks. That’s an awful lot of knitting in the dark. I speak as someone who has a cardigan’s quantity of 4 ply in the stash. I have never got past the cast on. But if you are up for it, I think you need to think about what you will wear it with – the middle one would be no good with low slung jeans, but super-cute with a dress. The third one is probably the most versatile…? Good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I know I’m literally mental! But my plan will be to store the yarn for lighter months so this will be started maybe next March when the it starts getting lighter. I did think about that but I knit a dark navy sweater for months without any trouble so I’ll cross fingers! Maybe I should knit a hat in black yarn first and test how I get on! ๐Ÿ˜€
      Ooo that’s a great idea as well to help me whittle down the choices! I’d most likely wear it with dresses and skirts I believe that’s what I’m aiming it for and its what I use my other one for too! ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks Roo :* I need all the luck!!

Leave a Reply

