Time To Get Planning!

We all know Ravelry is an amazing tool for planning projects, it has literally everything you need as a knitter. From logging your projects, stash, browsing yarns and chatting. However, I found an amazing reason to keep somethings written down and all in one place.

Spending my evening making my new knitting planner! Im putting my future knitting preparation in order and it's going to help lots when yarn shopping especially Yarndale!!! 💓💓 😁 I love being organised! #knitting #knittersofinstagram #knittingjournal #beingorganised #yarndale #yarndale2016

Last year at Yarndale, I had specific things in mind that I wanted to buy, but these things were for trying out and general wanting to squirrel certain dyers yarns away in my stash. This year I want certain things but not just for trying out sake. I want them to have an end result like a planned sweater or to be shopping with a project in mind.

Reception on phones aren’t always to be dependant on especially in countryside towns and farm buildings. I’d be very mad with myself If I weren’t able to research for a purchase. Like, checking the amount of yarn needed could be crucial if I didn’t get enough or what if I spotted yarn perfect for a project that I’d not thought of in a while? I don’t want my fun to be made more difficult. I can relax in my shopping venture if I have essential notes on me to refer to if needed, It doesn’t mean I’ve got to be strict and keep too it.

My Starting Point was to collect images of all the projects I’ve thought about casting on recently, either through my Queue or my favourites on Ravelry. Then allocating them a page each. A visual is really helpful if a project name isn’t a trigger enough to remember it or where you saw it!

Secondly, it was a good idea to weed out all those projects I had yarn for already waiting in stash by writing the yarn in. That way it’s spoken for.

Third, those without stashed yarn were good for further planning stages. Like noting your yarn ideas (if you have something in mind), weight of yarn, needles and tensions used in the pattern, Size (you’d make) and yardage. You could then even go a step further to work out a cost if you had yarns in mind. Which helps you with budgeting your spending for the day.

Fourth, Other than that, it’s great for adding project notes and postit’s when on the road, if you are shopping and see something perfect for a project but it’ll be for a later date then.. Write it down even clip in a business card as a reminder.

Basically these pages could be used to your needs, desires and general knitting operations..!

With mine, I’ve gone the none expensive route, it’s in the Pukka Pad stage and it works!! With the ring binding I can lay it out flat and open at desks or fold it back into a one handed effort when shopping. Plus you can take it a step further… I’m planning at the back of the notepad all my sewing plans and materials.

Who doesn’t like planning there creations right?!

I know I do!! 😀

 

Leave a Reply

